Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (arr. Widmann): Andante from Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
Jörg Widmann: Con Brio, Overture for Orchestra
Jörg Widmann: Armonica
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Symphony No. 5 "Reformation"


Jörg Widmann, conductor and clarinet
(Composer in Residence)


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

Mendelssohn-Bartholdy’s beautiful Andante from the Sonata for Clarinet and Piano has been arranged by Jörg Widmann, the orchestra’s resident composer this season. Following this is Widmann’s own Con Brio, an energetic overture, and Armonica, a unique and atmospheric piece.

The evening concludes with Mendelssohn-Bartholdy’s final symphony, Symphony No. 5, also known as the Reformation Symphony. Martin Luther’s hymn “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God” is a central theme in the work’s final movement.