Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 35 "Haffner Symphony"
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Cello Concerto in A major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 40


Arvid Engegård, conductor
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

The concert begins with Mozart’s lively Symphony No. 35, also known as the “Haffner Symphony.” This is followed by Bach’s Cello Concerto in A major, showcasing the cello in all its glory. The evening concludes with one of Mozart’s most famous symphonies, No. 40 in G minor, filled with intensity and emotional appeal, written in 1788, three years before the composer’s death.