Harald Sæverud: Fanfare and Hymn
Magnus Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto
Jean Sibelius: The Swan of Tuonela
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 7


Emilia Hoving, conductor
Kari Kriikku, clarinet


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

The evening opens grandly and ceremoniously with Sæverud’s Fanfare and Hymn, which premiered by Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra in January 1970 and was composed in celebration of Bergen’s 900th anniversary.

Lindberg is one of Finland’s great contemporary composers. The Clarinet Concerto is a modern masterpiece written for tonight’s soloist, Kari Kriikku.

Sibelius’ evocative “Tuonela’s Swan” paints a poetic picture of the Finnish mythological underworld before the concert concludes with Sibelius’ Symphony No. 7, an extraordinary symphonic journey that encapsulates his life’s work.