Franz Schubert: Stabat Mater, D. 175
Arvo Pärt: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Arvo Pärt: L'abbé Agathon (arr. Kõrvits)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem


Tõnu Kaljuste, conductor
Stavanger Symphony Choir
TBA, soloists


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

Schubert’s Stabat Mater is a beautiful and sorrowful tribute to the Virgin Mary. Pärt greatly admired Britten and composed Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten as an elegy mourning the composer’s death in 1976. Pärt’s L’abbé Agathon is composed for soprano and strings and is inspired by Maladrerie Saint-Lazare, one of Europe’s oldest leprosy hospitals.

The evening concludes with Mozart’s powerful Requiem, one of his most famous works. Mozart composed the Requiem towards the end of his young life and died before finishing it. His assistant, Franz Xaver Süssmayr, completed this immortal piece.