Jörg Widmann (Composer in Residence): Horn Concerto
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 – "The Unfinished"


Andris Poga, conductor
Stefan Dohr, horn  


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

The concert opens with Jörg Widmann’s Horn Concerto, an exciting work by this season’s resident composer. Following this is Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony – the Unfinished – a grand and emotional masterpiece, the composer’s musical farewell to life, dedicated to God. Bruckner died in Vienna without having completed the work, which premiered in 1903.