Lili Boulanger: D’un matin du Printemps
Manuel de Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird (1945 Suite)


Shiyeong Sung, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

The tone poem D’un matin du Printemps is a tribute to the bright colors of spring and one of Boulanger’s last works. Manuel de Falla’s Nights in the Gardens of Spain paints a vivid picture of Spanish nightlife.

Stravinsky had his major breakthrough in 1910 when The Firebird premiered in Paris. The story is based on Russian fairy tales and involves a prince, thirteen enchanted princesses, an evil sorcerer, and the mysterious Firebird. In this concert, you will hear the 1945 suite.