Richard Wagner: Lohengrin Prelude
Robert Schumann: Cello Concerto
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 8


Thierry Fischer, conductor
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

“Lohengrin” is considered one of Wagner’s masterpieces and premiered in 1850. Schumann’s Cello Concerto celebrates the instrument’s lyrical quality and virtuosity with rich melodies and brilliant orchestration, performed by this season’s resident musician. The evening concludes with Dvořák’s lively Symphony No. 8, brimming with vitality and charm inspired by Czech folk music.