Therese Ulvo: New work in the series "The Essence of Stavanger" - World Premiere
Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3
Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances


Andris Poga, conductor
Boris Giltburg, piano


Fartein Valen, Stavanger konserthus

Therese Birkelund Ulvo is a Norwegian composer who has written solo pieces, chamber music, and works for symphony orchestra. Tonight, we present Ulvo’s newly commissioned work as part of the “Essence of Stavanger” series, in celebration of the city’s 900th anniversary.

Prokofiev was a brilliant pianist, and his Third Piano Concerto from 1921 remains strong both among pianists and audiences. Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances take you on a hypnotic journey through passionate themes and pulsating rhythms.